Church Words

2 years ago I was riding in a car with a guy in the middle east and he asked me if I wanted a cup of coffee. I excitedly told him that I did. He quickly jerked the car out of heavy traffic to a little coffee shop and a man came to the window and the two of them started speaking in Arabic. As I sat there, I remember how helpless and uninformed I felt as they rattled on about my cup of coffee. Eventually of course, a hot cup of coffee arrived at my window and I was grateful…but I also had wished I understood Arabic.

Sometimes, I wonder to myself how many people sit in church gatherings all across the world every week and hear words and terminology that sound like a foreign language they only wish they could understand.

One of my most passionate desires when it comes to preaching the truth of God’s Word is that people would understand what in the world I am talking about! Nehemiah 8:12 says, “…they (the listeners) understood the words which had been made known to them.” Boy do I pray that the blessed people God has allowed me to preach to in this life might say the same.

For the next 3 weeks at the Rock church, I feel God has called me to preach for the purpose of understanding some very important “Church words”. Some words that people may have heard said throughout their entire lives, but couldn’t even begin to fully explain their meaning if asked. I believe it is part of my job to make sure “they understand the words which are made known to them” or everything spoken has become a waste of time…no matter how religious we sound.

Join us for the next 3 weeks as we endeavor in our ecclesia to exegete a plethora of…. “Church Words”. See what I mean.

This entry was posted in Church Info, From The Pastors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.