My Thoughts about Church Hayrides

Over the last week, the Rock church has hosted 2 hayrides at my home, one for couples and one for ladies. As I watched wagon ride after wagon ride fill up with people, I had a few thoughts.

1. I am so thankful to be a pastor. I so enjoyed riding on the wagon with the couple’s groups and driving the tractor for the ladies. On both occasions I found myself thankful that God allows me to be a pastor to such great people.

2. Fellowship for fellowship’s sake is important to the church. In Acts 2:42 the scripture tells us, “They were continually devoting themselves to the apostle’s teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.” Fellowship is placed right along side the teaching of scripture, communion, and prayer. I watched so many believers interacting with each other and cultivating godly relationships and I was just reminded of how important that is for us as a church to do.

3. People newer to the church community were made to feel welcome and more connected to the “larger whole”. It’s a painful thing when people that are new to the church want to be more involved and welcomed but feel marginalized and unknown. Being new to anything is tough for most people. I watched several new couples show up as well as ladies and be warmly welcomed by those that have been established at the church for a while. I listened as long-time attenders asked questions about people’s lives, interests, families, jobs, beliefs etc. It was so great to watch people throughout the night that arrived a “newer person” be drawn further in to the church body by the compassion and interest shown by “the regulars”.

Some may think last week was just a few hours of an old fashioned hayride. However, for this local body of Christ known as the Rock…it was biblical fellowship.

Pastor Wes

This entry was posted in From The Pastors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.